Invited Speakers

Plenary Talks

Prof. Anil K. Jain
Michigan State University
Prof. Anil K. Jain (Michigan State University)

Anil K. Jain (PhD, 1973, Ohio State University; B. Tech., IIT Kanpur) is a University Distinguished Professor at Michigan State University where he conducts research in pattern recognition, machine learning, computer vision, and biometrics recognition. He was a member of the United States Defense Science Board and Forensics Science Standards Board. His prizes include Guggenheim, Humboldt, Fulbright, and King-Sun Fu Prize. For advancing pattern recognition, Jain was awarded Doctor Honoris Causa by Universidad Autónoma de Madrid. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence and is a Fellow of ACM, IEEE, AAAS, and SPIE. Jain has been assigned 8 U.S. and Korean patents and is acve in technology transfer for which he was elected to the National Academy of Inventors. Jain is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE), foreign member of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), a member of The World Academy of Science (TWAS) and a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).

Prof. Lorna Dawson
James Hutton Institute
Prof. Lorna Dawson (James Hutton Institute)

Professor Lorna Dawson is Head of the Soil Forensics Group within the Environmental and Biochemical Sciences group at the James Hutton Institute, and has over 30 years’ experience in managing and conducting research in soil and plant interactions, in particular its application in the criminal justice system. She was awarded a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list in June 2018.

Lorna is also honorary professor in Forensic Science at Robert Gordon University, and is SEFARI Advisor on the Scottish Government‘s (RESAS) strategic research programme 2016-2021, where she reports to the Directors’ Executive Committee to ensure effective delivery of the Scottish Government’s Strategic Research Programme. She is the SEFARI Gateway Knowledge Exchange Lead for Environment. She is affiliated to Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen, contributing to Forensic Science lecture courses and also lectures at the universities of Aberdeen, Strathclyde and Edinburgh. She has supervised over 20 PhD projects and has published over 100 refereed journal papers, books and book chapters, and regularly presents at national and international conferences. Professor Dawson was awarded a Special Recognition award at the Pride of Britain 2017 awards ceremony.


Prof. Joseph Almog
Institute of Chemistry, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Dr Roberto King
Chief Technology Officer at Foster and Freeman United Kingdom
Prof. Alice J. O'Toole
School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences, The University of Texas at Dallas
Prof. Mark Nixon
Electronics and Computer Science, University of Southampton